Chiffon Cake (Without The Chiffon Cake Tin)

Pandan Chiffon

I love chiffon cakes! The softness and fluffiness of it just makes you want to eat piece after piece! Chiffon cakes are not so common here in Bangkok though, but that day, when I was at Isetan Central World, I saw it in their Sun Moulin bakery, and I bought it right away! And after eating it, I told myself I need to learn how to make this! And when my friend Amy came to visit me and my baby that day, she gave me this site that has the recipe for making healthy pandan chiffon, so I decided to give it a go! So I went to look for the chiffon tin, but I could not find it though, so I decided to just use the cake tin at home.

I got the recipe from Honey and Soy’s Culinary Adventures but I made some variations to the way the cake was made. I also made my panda chiffon without any coloring except from the pandan leaves.

Ingredients A:

4 Large Egg Yolks, 1/4 Spoon Salt, 70g Sugar

Ingredients B:

85ml Mild Flavoured Oil (I Used Rice Bran Oil), 115ml Pandan Juice*

Ingredients C:

150g Plain Flour, 2 Teaspoons Baking Powder

Ingredients D:

4 Large Egg Whites, 70g Sugar, 1/2 Teaspoon Cream of Tartar

Instructions:

Pre-heat oven at 179 Degrees Celsius.

1. Cream ingredients A with a whisk till the mixture is slightly lighter.

2. Then add in ingredients B (Oil first, mix with whisk, then pandan juice)

3. Mix Ingredients C together, then sift twice. Then fold the flour into the egg and pandan mixture above.

4. Mix sugar and cream of tartar in Ingredients D together. In a mixer (I use kitchenaid), use speed 3 to whisk egg whites till it is slightly frothy, then add in 1/3 of the sugar mixture and increase speed to 5. Then add in the second 1/3 of the sugar, mix again and the last 1/3 of the sugar. If you put a whisk in the egg white and take it out, the meringue should look like the shape of a bird’s peak. Then you know that the consistency of the meringue is correct.

5. Mix half of the meringue into the flour mixture, fold, then mix the other half and fold. But don’t fold too much else the cake won’t be airy anymore. Then put in a normal cake tin. Mine was a 12cm cake tin.

6. Bake for 45 minutes. Then invert the cake tin to let it cool on a rack. I used 4 small soy sauce dipping plate to make the cake tin ‘stand’ while it is inverted.

Invert The Cake Tin While Cooling the Cake

The result of this was definitely not as good as the one with the chiffon tin as the centre collapsed a bit after baking, and my cake was also slightly undercooked. But tasted ok though for a first attempt. Will definitely improve on this next time!

Slightly Undercooked Pandan Chiffon

* For pandan juice, take 5 pandan leaves. Wash, then cut off the tip, the white parts and use scissors to cut into small pieces, then mix with 115ml of water and blend in the blender. You can either use your hand to squeeze out the liquid with the help of a strainer, or for me, i put the mixture through a coffee filter to get the juice. I got this method from Wendy’s site.

Leave a Reply

